The charming three hundred year old village of Lumberville is nestled beside the beautiful Delaware River at the northeast corner of Solebury Township in Bucks County, PA.
In 1984 the Lumberville Historic District was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. According to their records, Revolutionary War hero Col. George Wall Junior established 2 saw mills and a grist mill, a general store and a school for surveyors in 1755. The community became known at that time as Wall’s Landing, as well as Wall’s Saw Mills. The village remained Wall’s Landing until 1835, when a post office was established and the village name was changed to Lumberville.
The Lumberville General Store, established in 1803, is truly an institution. As the town’s only grocery, breakfast/lunch stop, newsstand and tourist hot spot, the General Store is loyally patronized by residents and visitors alike.
Doylestown businessman Jack Thompson purchased the Lumberville General Store in July 2008. After some much needed renovations, the doors re-opened in April 2009. Much care was taken to preserve the historic country store and the two hundred plus year old building.
In addition to serving as a deli, coffeehouse and local meeting place, the General Store is home to a bakery that services both the General Store and The Black Bass Hotel (right across the street), supplying breads, biscuits, muffins, desserts and more.